Skip to main content
RADIO TAMAZUJ - 21 Oct 2015

Explaining the S Sudan peace agreement (16): Who will report ceasefire violations?

'Focus on the Agreement' is a new daily segment broadcast on Radio Tamazuj to explain the contents of the peace deal signed in August 2015 between South Sudan's warring parties.

Yesterday we discussed the role of a joint committee formed by the warring parties to demobilize forces. Today we are looking at another committee, which is responbile for monitoring ceasefire violations.

Article 4 of Chapter II of the peace agreement explains the role and composition of the so-called Ceasefire and Transitional Security Arrangements Monitoring Mechanism. This is a committee that will take over the role of the IGAD Monitoring and Verification Mechanism.

The committee's members will include three representatives from each warring party, one representative from the former detainees, one women's leader, one civil society leader, one youth leader, one representative of the African Union, one Chinese representative, one representative of the Troika, one representative of UNMISS and one representative of the European Union. The committee will also include three representatives of IGAD, one of whom will serve as chairman of the mechanism.

This committee will be responsible for monitoring violations of the ceasefire by either warring party. They will also monitor other security issues, for example, whether the warring parties keep their forces in designated assembly areas or not.

The committee will report to the Joint Monitoring and Evaluation Committee chaired by Former Botswana President Festus Mogae.

Tomorrow we will discuss the issue of demilitarization of Juba.