Skip to main content
JUBA - 7 Jan 2016

South Sudan's parties divide up ministries for power-sharing government

South Sudan's government, rebels, former detainees, and other political parties have divided up the ministries for the country's proposed transitional power-sharing government, the Joint Monitoring and Evaluation Commission (JMEC) announced Thursday.

The various sides chose their ministerial portfolios in a meeting held in Juba facilitated by JMEC chairman Festus Mogae, the former president of Botswana, JMEC said.

The Government of the Republic of South Sudan under Salva Kiir will nominate ministers for the following 16 ministries:

  • Finance and Planning
  • Defence and Veterans’ Affairs
  • Justice and Constitutional Affairs
  • Information, Communication Technology and Postal Services
  • Minister in the Office of the President
  • Trade and Industry
  • Wildlife, Conservation and Tourism
  • Roads and Bridges
  • Parliamentary Affairs
  • National Security
  • Health
  • Culture, Youth and Sports
  • Gender, Child and Social Welfare
  • General Education and Instruction
  • Livestock and Fisheries
  • Environment and Forestry

The SPLM/A (In Opposition) under Riek Machar will nominate ministers for the following 10 ministries:

  • Petroleum
  • Interior
  • Water Resources and Irrigation
  • Labour, Public Service and Human Resources Development
  • Federal Affairs
  • Higher Education, Science and Technology
  • Energy and Dams
  • Humanitarian Affairs and Disaster Management
  • Land, Housing and Urban Development
  • Mining

The SPLM (Former Detainees) under Pagan Amum will nominate ministers for the following 2 ministries:

  • Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation
  • Transport

The Political Parties will nominate ministers for the following 2 ministries:

  • Cabinet Affairs
  • Agriculture and Food Security

File photo: inaugural JMEC meeting in December 2015 (courtesy JC McIlwaine/UNMISS)